Lord Caitanya’s Grace

A class by my own dear spiritual master. As always his words are soothing to the heart, and delightfully enlivening.

But first, a sobering thought. I apply it to my own life. What is someone from the age of Kali doing here, attempting to write on topics that saints speak of? Clearly, I am here only by Lord Caitanya’s grace.

This is what happens when we become a part of His transcendental movement. Yes, there is within it a framework of rules and regulations that may be difficult for someone like me to follow, but by some attempt at worship, with obeisances and respect to the standards of purity, gradually their purpose is fulfilled – to raise one from one’s lower nature into higher realms of being where there is only bliss. But we can feel the joy, right from the very start.

Gurumaharaj shares his own journey to discovering this, his acceptance of this path as truth and how it leads to greater truth. With fun all along the way.

What is Lord Caitanya’s movement if not an eternal, transcendental party? It is based on kirtan, the chanting of His holy names, which is not only meditative but playful, creative, exciting, and one experiences this immediately. Then, in conjunction with some regulation, one can enter more deeply into its divine essence. When we go beyond ourselves and our limitations, miracles can happen. I must remember this.

Because, Maharaj continues, the miracle – that essence – is the ecstatic gift which Sri Caitanya Mahaprabhu came to give. He came to show that devotion is not in the external things, that it is not mechanical, that rather it’s a matter of the heart, of love. Although we may not be saints, in essence, deep down, we truly are devotees – and Lord Caitanya’s mercy comes to awaken this.

I realise that this is an incredible blessing. This means that we are in our rightful place on this path, and automatically empowered to become who we truly are – His servants. Empowered, therefore, to do anything in our rightful position – to rise beyond our material imperfections to His service. Only by His mercy, and a little effort on our part – some attempt at worship, with obeisances, and respect to the standards of purity. Only with a little love.

I feel an inner resolution rise towards this. I want to recommit to this path, its principles and regulations, and its essence. This is not only supremely beneficial, but truly, it is joyful, and indeed miraculous. Why do I forget this? Moreover, it would please my spiritual master, and enable me to serve him, by serving this movement, and indeed by writing – because suddenly so many things known only to the saints are now accessible to me by this same mercy. And I must share it. Sharing is its very joy and beauty. And in sharing I can grow in love.

Leave a comment